Evictions (Forcible Entry and Detainer “FED” Actions)
We offer assistance in removing unwanted tenants from your residential properties and explain the process and laws regarding the eviction process.
In Colorado, you must follow a specific Eviction procedure. Colorado has developed an expedited system for Landlords to obtain an eviction of a tenant who isn’t complying with their obligations under a lease and is governed by Colo. Rev. Stats. §13-40-101 et al. The landlord must give a written three-day demand notice. On the 4th day after the notice was served a complaint can be filed with the court. When the complaint is filed the Clerk will set a date for a return hearing between 7 and 14 days after the complaint is filed.
The judgement in an eviction is called a Writ of Restitution. If the Landlord prevails in their case the judge will enter the writ and may also order monetary damages for unpaid rent. The Tenant will then have 48 hours to vacate the premises or they will be ejected by the Sheriff.